Cookie Consent
We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we assume that you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change your cookie settings at any time but if you do, you may lose some functionality on our website.
Garda Confidential No.: 1 800 666 111

Audit Committee

Membership Profile

In accordance with section 44 of the Garda Síochána Act, 2005 as amended, the Policing Authority has appointed the following members to the Audit Committee for the period ending 30th April 2020.

Dr. Cyril Sullivan - Chairperson

Cyril Sullivan has been Director of Finance and Support Services / Company Secretary at the IPA since 2000. Previous to the IPA, he was Head of Support Services at the National Roads Authority, a senior accountant with Eircom plc and an auditor with the Comptroller and Auditor General's Office in Dublin Castle. Cyril is a qualified accountant (FCCA and ACMA), has a BSc (Comp. Sc) and an M(Econ) Sc from TCD / IPA, an MBA from UCD’s Smurfit School  and completed his doctorate in Governance with Queens University.

Ms. Áine Cornally

Áine is a career banker in the Bank of Ireland. She has worked in Treasury and Capital markets and as Head of Operations, Strategy and Governance. Áine holds a BSc in Financial Services from UCD and an MSc in Business Administration from Trinity College and has served on Audit Committees in a number of other organisations.

Ms. Anne Tynan

Anne is a recently retired senior civil servant from the Department of Social Protection. Anne is a trained internal auditor with experience in a broad range of senior roles including Accountant for the Department of Social Protection Vote with annual expenditure of approx. €20 billion. She has considerable experience in governance, government accounting, PAC and C&AG liaison.

Prof. Niamh Brennan

A first class honours, first place in class Science (Microbiology and Biochemistry) graduate of University College Dublin, Professor Niamh Brennan qualified as a chartered accountant with KPMG, holds a PhD from the University of Warwick and is a Chartered Director of the Institute of Directors (London).

Professor Brennan has published on Financial Reporting, Corporate Governance, Forensic Accounting and Clinical Governance in international peer-reviewed publications. Professor Brennan has served as Head of Accounting and Associate Dean for Research at the UCD School of Business. She has held visiting positions at the University of Sydney, University of South Australia, University of Canterbury (Christchurch), University of Otago, Queensland University of Technology, the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto and Swinburne University of Technology.

Having established the UCD Centre for Corporate Governance in 2002, Niamh plays a leading role in the public discourse in Ireland and internationally on corporate governance.

Chairman of the National College of Art & Design and former chairman of the Dublin Docklands Development Authority, she has held non-executive directorships with the Health Service Executive, Ulster Bank, Co-operation Ireland, Coillte and Lifetime Assurance (Bank of Ireland’s life assurance subsidiary). She served on the audit committee of the Department of Agriculture and Food and is former chairman/member of UCD's Audit Committee. She chaired the Commission on Financial Management and Control Systems in the Health Services and was vice-chairman of the Review Group on Auditing.

Deputy Commissioner Dónall Ó Cualáin – Garda Representative

Deputy Commissioner Ó Cualáin served as a Garda in Donnybrook, in the Garda Technical Bureau and in the Garda College. He was promoted to the rank of Sergeant while attached to Rannóg na Gaeilge at the Garda College and later served in the Aran Islands and the Continuous Professional Development School in Galway.

In 1994 he was promoted to the rank of Inspector and served in Ballyshannon before transferring to the Organisation Development Unit, Garda Headquarters and in 1996 was assigned to the Western Regional Office, Galway.

In 1999 he was promoted to the rank of Superintendent and was allocated to Glenties District where he served until 2001.  He was then allocated to Ennistymon District before returning to Galway in 2003.

He was promoted to the rank of Chief Superintendent in 2005 and served briefly in the Divisions of Mayo and Sligo before returning to take charge of the Galway Division.

In February 2012 he was promoted to the rank of Assistant Commissioner and took charge of the Southern Region with responsibility for the Divisions of Cork City, Cork West, Cork North, Kerry and Limerick. On the 27th July 2012 he took charge of the Western Region.

He was appointed Deputy Commissioner on the 20th October 2015.


*    Advanced Diploma in Executive Leadership – Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School, UCD.
*    Innovations in Governance – J.F.K. School of Government – Harvard University
*    Executive Masters in Business Administration – NUI Galway
*    International Exchange Programme – Community Policing – Boston College
*    Grid Leadership Course
*    B.A. in Public Administration – Institute of Public Administration